Towers of Silence

by Last Dominion Lost

Stagma 02:52
Sektor F 04:11
S.E.A.T.O 04:22
Kavum 04:40
Hexatom 05:32
Chöd Ritual 03:32
Minol 03:37


1. Stagma 2:52
2. Sektor F 4:12
3. S.E.A.T.O 4:23
4. Caesium Sunrise 4:53
5. Kavum 4:41
6. Hexatom 5:32
7. Chlorpromazine 5:02
8. Chöd Ritual 3:32
9. Minol 3:38
10 Towers Of Silence 4:02

Jon Evans: synths and samplers, vocals, treatments, tapes
Julian Percy: guitar, keys, electronics, percussion
John Murphy: drums, vocals, electronics, shenai
Ash Wednesday: synth on tracks 2, 4, 6

Additional percussion on tracks 2, 4, 6: David Barrett and Ricky Garrett
Vocals on track 6: Till Brüggemann
Lyrics on track 5: Annie Stubbs

All music recorded 2012 – 2014
Produced/engineered by the Grimmer Twins
Mastered by James Plotkin

Photography: Laura Fusato, Julian Percy
Editing cover photo: Agnes Grambow
Design and Layout: The Epicurean


released August 22, 2014

In Mumbai there are a number of brick towers, into which the Parsi people of India throw their dead ones, bound for their final journey up to heaven inside the vulture's bellies. This habit of sky burial derives from the Zoroastrian cult of Ancient Iran, where heaven was imagined as a very physical place. The towers, which remind of archaic silos, are called Dakhma or in English Towers of Silence.

The Australian unit LAST DOMINION LOST, originally founded in 1992 by Dominik Guerin (SPK) and Jon Evans, leave it to the listeners to guess where “Towers of Silence”, the allegorical title of their new album, really refers to – the fatal nature of physical life? The awkward edges between biological mortality and the idea of an eternal afterlife? The dreadful content which you may find inside what people built up? It's all open. One thing that LAST DOMINION LOST clearly show is how loud and infernal the silence of ending can be imagined. Screams of rage and anxiety intermingle with the shoutings of warriors – if the latter is not rather the croaking of vultures, which gather around corpses – until all is buried under an avalanche of infernal noise.

More than 20 years after the recordings for their debut album “The Tyranny of Distance” (Tesco, 2004), LAST DOMINION LOST come up with brand-new material recorded between 2012 and 2014, brilliantly mastered by James Plotkin in June 2014. Besides the core band members Jon Evans, John Murphy (Krank, Knifeladder, Shining Vril, Ex-SPK) and Julian Percy (Ratbag), “Towers of Silence” includes guest contributions by Ash Wednesday (Ex-Einstürzende Neubauten), Till Brüggemann (Gerechtigkeits Liga) and Annie Stubbs among others.


all rights reserved



The Epicurean Berlin, Germany

The Epicurean

Label website:

contact / help

Contact The Epicurean

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this album or account

If you like Towers of Silence, you may also like: